How long do you boil rutabagas?

Put chunks into a large stockpot and cover with water. Add an extra inch or two of water to ensure coverage. Put on a lid and heat over med-high heat. When the water comes to a boil, simmer for another 30 to 40 minutes. The rutabaga is ready when a fork can easily pierce the flesh.