When were crocodiles discovered?

Crocodiles are an ancient group of archosaurs, first appearing in the fossil record in the Late Triassic over 200 million years ago. The oldest 'modern' crocodile (Eusuchia) may be Isisfordia duncani, from the middle Cretaceous of Queensland.