Who invented mummies?

The oldest mummy to be discovered comes from the Chinchorro culture of South America, in the area of southern Peru and northern Chile. The oldest of these mummies was a person who died in 5050 BC, over 7,000 years ago, or 2,000 years older than the mummies in ancient Egypt.