What does thread mean?

noun. a long, thin strand of cotton, nylon, or other fibers used in sewing. a theme typically forming one of several, running throughout a piece of writing. verb. pass a thread through the eye of a needle or through guides of a sewing machine. pluck hairs from using a twisted cotton thread.