What's a substitute for heavy whipping cream?

If your recipe requires the whipping of heavy cream, substitutes may not work, as you need the fat in heavy cream to get whipped volume. Otherwise, you can substitute 3 quarter cup milk plus quarter cup butter, or margarine for 1 cup of heavy cream.