How do you cook artichokes?

Remove the stem and slice off about an inch off the top. Remove tough outer leaves. Spread leaves apart and pour a little olive oil and lemon juice down into the choke. Wrap in 2 thicknesses of foil, place upright in oven proof pan, and roast for about 1 hour, 15 minutes at 425 degrees.