How big was the biggest hail?

The largest officially recognized hailstone on record to have been 'captured' in the U.S. was that which fell near Vivian, South Dakota last summer (2010) on July 23rd. It measured 8.0” in diameter, 18 ½” in circumference, and weighed in at 1.9375 pounds.