What's the difference in champagne and prosecco?

Champagne and prosecco differ in many ways. While both are sparkling wine the fermentation process is quite different. Champagne is much more labor intensive leading to its higher cost. True champagne comes only from the champagne region of France. Prosecco is from Italy and is authenticated by DOC