Where did anime begin?

Modern anime began in 1956 and found lasting success in 1961 with the establishment of Mushi Productions by Osamu Tezuka.

---

The first animated film came out in Japan in 1971. And since we now know that anime is the Japanese name for it, it implies that this was also the beginning of the Anime journey.