What is another name for a water moccasin?

Water mocassins are commonly referred to as cottonmouths. They are a species of pit viper and are one of the world's few semiaquatic vipers, native to the southeastern United States. As an adult, it is large and capable of delivering a painful and potentially fatal bite.