How long was david stern n. b. a. commissioner?

30 years. On February 1, 1984, Stern became the Commissioner of the NBA, succeeding Larry O'Brien. Stern announced that he would step down as NBA commissioner on February 1, 2014, after 30 years in the role, longer than each of his three predecessors.