What's the difference between gaelic and irish?

Gaelic is an adjective that describes the people and culture of Ireland. Like its Gaelic cousin, both are Indo-European languages, but Irish is actually a language unto its own. The term “Gaelic”, as a language, applies only to the language of Scotland.

---

Gaelic is a subset of the Celtic language. It can be divided into Manx, Scottish Gaelic and Irish Gaelic. Irish itself refers to the people and culture of Ireland or the Irish Gaelic language.