Why is nashville called the athens of the south?

Nashville earned the nickname of the “Athens of the South” around 1850, having established numerous higher education institutions; it was the first American southern city to establish a public school system. The replica of the Greek Parthenon, built in 1877, added to the “Athens of the South” aura.