Who is the first sitting president to fly in an airplane?

Franklin Delano Roosevelt. On January 14th, 1943, FDR flew across the Atlantic in a Boeing 314 Flying Boat (named The Dixie Clipper) to Casablanca to meet with Winston Churchill to discuss strategy during WWII.