Is the movie i wanna live based on a true story?

Yes, in I Want to Live! (1958), a movie based on real events, Susan Hayward portrayed Barbara Graham, a prostitute who was convicted (possibly wrongly) with two companions of having murdered a wealthy widow in 1953 and was executed in the gas chamber.