When was september by earth wind and fire released?

From Wikipedia - "September" is a song by the band Earth, Wind & Fire released as a single in 1978 on ARC Columbia Records. September reached No. 1 on the US Billboard Hot R&B Songs chart, No. 8 on the US Billboard Hot 100, and No. 3 on the UK Singles Chart.