Is there such thing as sea snakes?

Sea snakes give birth in the ocean to an average of 2–9 young, but as many as 34 may be born. The 54 species in subfamily Hydrophiinae belong to 16 different genera. The six species of sea kraits (genus Laticauda) are not as specialized for aquatic life as the true sea snakes.