How long does it take to thaw frozen meat?

According to FSIS.USDA.GOV: There are 3 safe ways to thaw food: in the refrigerator food needs a full day to thaw; in cold water takes approx. 30 minutes to1 hour per pound; in microwave use defrost setting on your microwave. It is safe to cook foods from the frozen state; takes about 50% longer.