What is the s. and p. five hundred?

It stands for Standard & Poor's 500 Index. According to Wikipedia, "The S&P 500, or simply the S&P, is a stock market index that measures the stock performance of 500 large companies listed on stock exchanges in the United States. It is one of the most commonly followed equity indices."