How fast can a cavity form?

Cavities form more quickly in children than in adults. The enamel in children’s teeth is weaker than adult teeth, making them more susceptible to cavities. A cavity can form in a child’s tooth in a few months, whereas it can take up to 12 months for a cavity to form in an adult.