Who is the first person to leave the band one direction?

Zayn Malik was the first to leave the band, announcing his departure in March 2015. “My life with One Direction has been more than I could ever have imagined. But, after five years, I feel like it is now the right time for me to leave the band,” he said in a statement at the time.