What was the time frame of the vietnam war?

The Vietnam War lasted 19 years beginning November 1st 1955 and ending with the fall of Saigon on April 30th 1975. Often associated in the popular culture with the anti-war movement and culture of the 1960's it actually lasted much longer. Direct U.S. involvement ended August 15th 1973.