Why do dogs have long tongues?

It helps them cool off when they are panting

---

The main reason dogs have a long tongue is because they have no sweat glands, except in their feet. When they pant, cool air is breathed in over the tongue and the blood in the veins and capillaries is cooled down. The bigger the surface area the more blood that can be cooled.