When is an eggplant right?

I think you are asking, how to tell if an eggplant is "ripe." Ripe eggplants should be firm but not hard. The flesh should be white, or orange, with a slight green tint. If you are unsure, cut one crosswise and check if the seeds are visible. If you don’t see seeds, the eggplant isn’t ripe.