Where are wild humingbirds?

According to Smithsonian's National Zoo, wild hummingbirds are entirely restricted to the New World, where they can be found from Tierra Del Fuego to southern Alaska and from below-sea-level deserts to steamy tropical forests at elevations of up to 16,000 feet in the Andes of South America.