What animal is on the main flag?

Do you mean the flag of Maine? If so, the answer is the flag depicts a moose resting under a pine tree on the flag. Flanked by a farmer and a sailor, it is topped by a banner with the state motto and a gold star, both allude to the North Star. The state motto, Dirigo, means, I Direct.