How long should you hard boil an egg for?

To hard boil an egg put it 10 minutes in boiling water.

---

Place eggs in a large saucepan. Cover them with cool water by 1 inch. Cover the pan with a lid and bring water to a rolling boil over high heat; when the water has reached a boil, set the timer for the desired time: Boil for 6-7 minutes over medium-high heat for perfect hard boiled eggs.