What is a shock trooper?

Shock troopers were a type of military personnel used by various organizations throughout the galaxy in Star Wars. They served as police or elite soldiers reserved for operations requiring speed and skill. Some shock troopers such as those commanded by the Togorian Kr'saang acted as mercenaries.