What causes varicose veins?

Varicose veins may be caused by weakened valves (incompetent valves) within the veins that allow blood to pool in the veins instead of traveling to the heart. Varicose veins are twisted, enlarged veins. Any vein that is close to the skin's surface (superficial) can become varicosed.