What is the substitute for pepper?

By pepper, do you mean seasoning pepper or actual peppers? Seasoning pepper you can use hot sauce or peppercorns. Actual peppers, depends on the recipe but vegetables like onions or tomatoes can make a substitute or other peppers or hilis like jalapenos, poblano etc..