What is a yo kai?

Yōkai are a class of supernatural entities and spirits in Japanese folklore. The word 'yōkai' is composed of the kanji for "attractive; calamity" and "apparition; mystery; suspicious." Yōkai are also referred to as ayakashi, mononoke or mamono.