Do butterflies fight?

Yes. In many butterfly species the males can be seen fighting for territory. What determines who wins is something that has long eluded researchers. A dissertation at the Department of Zoology, Stockholm University, in Sweden, suggests that the victor is the most highly motivated of the combatants.