What was the doctor's name on gunsmoke?

On the television series Gunsmoke Milburn Stone played Dr. Galen Adams. When Stone had to have heart bypass surgery in 1971 he was temporarily replaced by Pat Hingle as Dr. John Chapman.

---

The doctor went under the name "Doc Adams" and was played by Milburn Stone.