Is ding a bad word?

Ding is not generally considered to be a bad word. It could represent losing some value such as “I was dinged 3 points”, or damage to something such as “my car got a ding in the parking lot.”

---

The word "ding" is a normal word. It means to make a ringing sound or to imitate the sound of a bell, as in "Ding! Time's up."