How many countries are there in planet earth?

There are currently 195 countries on planet Earth.

---

According to worldatlas.com, there are 195 universally recognized countries (193 members of the UN plus two non-member observer states the Vatican and Palestine). Places like, Kosovo and Taiwan are partially recognized which increase the count.