What is the meaning of the end of the man in the high castle?

"The Man in the High Castle" seems to end on a hopeful note. The man who succeeds Smith, General Bill Whitcroft, throws away his Nazi medals, which would seem to mean that he has no intention of staying loyal to the Third Reich, and may even be planning to break away