What two colors combined make red?

What Colors Make Red?: A Quick Overview. If you mix yellow and magenta, you'll end up with red. The hues of each color affect what shade of red you'll end up with. If you add more magenta, you'll get a cooler red (like ruby)...whereas more yellow will give you a warmer red (like tomato)!

---

Red is a primary color in both subtractive, and additive color mixing. Subtractive color mixing removes light as in mixing paint, additive color mixing adds light, as in combining colors of theater lighting. Red, blue and yellow paint produces black, while red, green and blue light makes white.