Who made the first flag?

Betsy Ross is often credited with sewing the first American flag although there is no evidence this is true. Ross did sign a contract on May 29, 1777, with the Pennsylvania State Navy Board for making flags, and on June 14, 1777, Congress adopted the Stars and Stripes as our official national flag.