What makes up algae?

Algae are simple, nonflowering, usually aquatic plants, belonging to a large group that includes single-cell forms, and the seaweeds. Algae contain chlorophyll but lack true stems, roots, leaves, and vascular tissue. Their cells, as those of all living things, are made up of protoplasm.