How long does it take a butterfly to come out of it's chrysalis?

When the caterpillar is full grown and stops eating, it becomes a pupa. The pupa of butterflies is also called a chrysalis. This stage can last from a few weeks, a month or even longer. Some species have a pupal stage that lasts for two years.