What does massaro mean?

tenant farmer Italian: occupational or status name from massaro which in northern Italy denoted a tenant farmer or share cropper and in central and southern Italy could also denote an agent or steward of a rural estate from medieval Latin massarius a derivative of massa 'farm estate'.