How many dogs does it take to pull a dog sled?

This really depends on the weight of the sled and the distance of the race. On average, anywhere between 4 and 6 dogs for a solo sleigh. If the dogs are pulling paired or family sleighs, the required number is 8-12 dogs. In Iditarod, you are required to have 16 dogs to start and must finish with 6+.