How many types of trombones are there?

Types of Trombones. The three most common types of trombone are straight tenor, trigger-type tenor (also referred to as F-rotor or F-attachment), and bass trombones. Valve trombones, alto trombones, soprano trombones, and marching trombones are less common (but well loved) trombone types.