When did the internet begin?

ARPANET adopted TCP-IP on January 1, 1983, and from there researchers began to assemble the “network of networks” that became the modern Internet. The online world then took on a more recognizable form in 1990, when computer scientist Tim Berners-Lee invented the World Wide Web.

---

The commercialized internet as it's known today began in the mid-1990s. Prior to that, ARPAnet or DARPAnet started in the sixties, but the networking technology was immature. DECnet and later TCPIP allowed the network to proliferate beyond the use of "store and forward" modem-based systems.