When did the internet begin?

The commercialized internet as it's known today began in the mid-1990s. Prior to that, ARPAnet or DARPAnet started in the sixties, but the networking technology was immature. DECnet and later TCPIP allowed the network to proliferate beyond the use of "store and forward" modem-based systems.