What was the first jet to break the sound barrier?

While the first aircraft to break the sound barrier was the rocket-propelled Bell X-1, the first jet-powered aircraft to break the sound barrier in level flight was the North American YF-100 Super Saber. An XP-86 Saber had previously been able to break the sound barrier but only in a dive.