How long can a human survive in a vacuum?

Human accidents have shown that people can likely survive exposure to vacuum conditions for at least 1 to 2 minutes. However, vacuums are indeed lethal: Under extremely low pressure air trapped in the lungs expands, tearing the gas-exchange tissues of the lungs.