What are u. s. coins made of?

Regular circulating U.S. coins, are made from composites and alloys of, copper, nickle, zinc and brass, depending on the exact denomination, penny through dollar coin. Coins of 10 cents and larger, dated 1964 and earlier, were 90 percent silver.