When did the measles vaccine start?

The earliest trials of the measles vaccine were conducted in 1958, with larger scale trials in Nigeria and in New York City in the early 1960s. A vaccine developed by Dr. John Enders and Dr. Thomas Peebles was first licensed in the United States in 1963.