What's the proper way to wash fruit?

If the fruit is soft and delicate like berries, rinse well in a colander under cold, running water. For firm fruit like apples and pears, rinse under running water scrubbing with a soft brush. For semi-soft fruit like peaches, apricots or plums, rub gently with your hands under cold running water