Are scorpions venomous?

Most species possess a sting like that of a bee or fire ant, but a few scorpion species have a venomous sting that can be lethal to humans. Scorpion venom is a neurotoxin, a chemical that affects the nervous system, ultimately killing or paralyzing their prey.